Categories
genealogical research

Llywelyn the Great, Llywelyn ap Iorwerth (1172 – 1240) Prince of Gwynedd and Powys Wenwynwyn, Prince of Aberffraw and Lord of Snowdon





Llywelyn the Great was an agnatic descendant of Rhodri the Great (820 – 878), the 9th century king of Wales who defeated the Vikings in several battles during the latter part of his reign. A contemporary of Alfred the Great, he and his brother were both killed during a Saxon invasion led by Ceowulf II ( – 881), King of Mercia, Alfred’s cousin and vassal.

He was also an agnatic descendant of Brutus of Troy, eponymous founder and 1st King of Britain (1150 – 1091 BC).

Related ancestral blog articles

Llywelyn the Great, Llywelyn ap Iorwerth
BIRTH 1173  Dolwyddelan, Caernarvonshire, Wales
DEATH 11 APRIL 1240  Cistercian, Aberconwy Abbey, Wales

Ancestry.com citation/Lineages

23rd great-grandfather DE MAR-BRUCE-STEWART-.DE LA HAY-TATE-CHANDLER-SIMMONS-COLLINS

24th great-grandfather DE MAR-STEWART-MACDONALD-FINLAY-COLLINS

2nd cousin 27x removed …MORGAN-BOWLES-VAN NUYS-TERHUNE-BANTA-BRINKERHOFF-OUTWATER-COLLINS

brother-in-law of 21st great-grandfather PLANTAGENET-FITZALAN-MOWBRAY-HOWARD-WOOD=-COLLINS

great-grandfather of husband of 3rd cousin 20x removed DE BAR-PLANTAGENET-HOWARD-WOOD-COLLINS

maternal grandfather of wife of 1st cousin 28x removed CLIFFORD-GIFFARD-AUDLEY-BASSET-SHIRLEY-POULTNEY-PAINE-TRIPP-OUTWATER-COLLINS

husband of 21st great-grandaunt PLANTAGENET-FITZALAN-MOWBRAY-HOWARD-WOOD-COLLINS

husband of 23rd great-aunt PLANTAGENET-GUBIUM-BERTRAM-OGLE-HERON-COLLINGWOOD-COLLINS

FAB PEDIGREE
Wikitree
Wiki

BIBLIOGRAPHY

Llywelyn the Great: Prince of Gwynedd
13th-Century Rulers in Europe: 13th-Century Monarchs in Europe, Rudolph I of Germany, Llywelyn the Last, Llywelyn the Great
12th-Century Monarchs in Europe: Llywelyn the Great, Alexander I of Scotland, David I of Scotland, Rhys AP Gruffydd, Gwenwynwyn AP Owain

The Patricians, A Genealogical Study – Ebook Editions US$5.95

Author at Harrod’s Deli – London

Steven Wood Collins (1952 – ) Antiquarian, Genealogist, Novelist

By Steven Wood Collins

I spent most of my life unaware of my ancestral heritage. Sure, I knew of the personal history of my more immediate relatives; but beyond that, I never had any inkling as to my ancestral heritage. Then one day many years ago my sister said to me, “I sometimes wonder about our family background.” And so my quest to discover our genealogical roots commenced.

I started building my family tree with the very basic relationships, going back in time from my grandparents, one ancestor at a time. That initial effort proved to be the hardest part of the pursuit, mainly due to my lack of expertise as a novice genealogical researcher. As I gained familiarity with the databases and how to efficiently mine them, my progress gained ever-increasing momentum. Today, The Patricians! tree (Ancestry.com) contains nearly 120,000 individuals, stretching over 135 generations, 5,800 of which are my direct ancestors in a genealogical sense.

During this trek back in time, I encountered fascinating figures in both history and obscurity. This blog contains many stories about their genealogical relationship to me (and many of you). By far and away, as a student of history, the historically obscure individuals are of particular interest to me. I cite Baron “Blue Beard” Montmorency-Laval de Rais (1405 – 1440) as an example of a historically maligned personage whose real contribution to history, as both a playwright and hero of France, has yet to be properly recognized. Another example is Earl Edward de Vere (1550 – 1604), who’s yet to gain widespread recognition as the actual author of the body of literary work wrongly ascribed to William Shakespeare (1564 – 1616).

My life-long interest in international economics and finance continues unabated. I primarily demonstrate this professional involvement as a contributor to the Long Room, the members-only international finance professionals' forum hosted by the Financial Times of London.

I'm an avid recreational scuba diver who enjoys traveling to exotic dive sites. My love of the sea and marine life gives me an unbounded appreciation and support of “green” issues, especially those devoted to the conservation of endangered species and coral reefs.

He continually posts results of his personal genealogical research to his Goodreads Authors Blog. Entitled The Patricians - The Ancestral Heritage of Steven Wood Collins, the work represents thousand of hours of his research efforts and related commentary.

149 replies on “Llywelyn the Great, Llywelyn ap Iorwerth (1172 – 1240) Prince of Gwynedd and Powys Wenwynwyn, Prince of Aberffraw and Lord of Snowdon”

Leave a comment