Categories
genealogical research genealogy

Norma Jeane “Marilyn Monroe” Gifford (1926 – 1962) Stage and Screen Actress, 20th Century Popular Culture Icon




Marilyn Monroe was born on June 1, 1926 in the charity ward of the Los Angeles County Hospital. Her registered name was Norma Jeane Mortenson, but her grandmother, Della Monroe Grainger, later had her baptized as Norma Jeane Baker. Her biological father was Charles Stanley Gifford, a salesman for the studio where Monroe’s mother worked as a film-cutter. He never presented himself to his daughter during her lifetime.

Her mother once showed her a photograph of her father. She always said he reminded her of a thin Clark Gable. Since Charles was a descendant of five Mayflower Pilgrims, Marilyn couldn’t have possessed a finer American genealogical heritage. It’s regrettable that that fact was never revealed to her, especially considering the absence of a father in her life tormented her.

Marilyn was an agnatic descendant of Norman knight Osbern Giffard (1049 – 1086). He was one of the knight companions of William the Conqueror at the Battle of Hastings (1066). His nephew Walter later became the 1st Earl of Buckingham.

She was an agnatic descendant of Ganger Hrólf “Rollo” (860 – 930) 1st Duke of Normandy, Count of Rouen.

Related ancestral blog articles

Elvis Aaron Presley (1935 – 1977) King of Rock & Roll 

20 actresses who have played Marilyn Monroe in TV amd Movies

AFI Top Women Actors of All Time

1. Katharine Hepburn (1907 – 2003)

2. Bette Davis (1908 – 1989)

6. Marilyn Monroe (1926 – 1962)

7. Elizabeth Taylor (1932- 2011)

10. Joan Crawford (1905 – 1977)

Marilyn Monroe
Birth 1 Jun 1926 in Los Angeles, Los Angeles, California, United States
Death 5 Aug 1962 in Brentwood, Los Angeles, California, United States

Ancestry.com citation/Lineages

10th cousin 3x removed GIFFORD-TENNANT-EASTON-FRANKLIN-MITCHELL-COOKE-BARLETT-SPRAGUE-TRIPP-OUTWATER-COLLINS

14th cousin 2x GIFFORD-HOWLAND-SIMMONS-COLLINS

18th cousin 9x removed AUDLEY-BASSET-SHIRLEY-POULTNEY-PAINE-TRIPP-OUTWATER-COLLINS

FAB PEDIGREE

FamilySearch

WikiTree

Wiki 

Sir Osbern Giffard
Birth 1049 in Longueville-le-Giffard, France
Death 1096 in Brimsfield, , Glouchester, England

31st great-grandfather AUDLEY-BASSET-SHIRLEY-POULTNEY-PAINE-TRIPP-OUTWATER-COLLINS

31st great-granduncle CLARE-MARSHALL-POTTER-TRIPP-OTWATER-COLLINS

FAB PEDIGREE 

Wiki 

SOURCES

Filmography

YouTube videos

BIBLIOGRAPHY

Marilyn Monroe

Marilyn Monroe: The Biography

The Secret Life of Marilyn Monroe

Assassination of Marilyn Monroe

The Patricians, A Genealogical Study – Ebook Editions US$5.95

Author at Harrod’s Deli – London

Steven Wood Collins (1952 – ) Antiquarian, Genealogist, Novelist 


By Steven Wood Collins

I spent most of my life unaware of my ancestral heritage. Sure, I knew of the personal history of my more immediate relatives; but beyond that, I never had any inkling as to my ancestral heritage. Then one day many years ago my sister said to me, “I sometimes wonder about our family background.” And so my quest to discover our genealogical roots commenced.

I started building my family tree with the very basic relationships, going back in time from my grandparents, one ancestor at a time. That initial effort proved to be the hardest part of the pursuit, mainly due to my lack of expertise as a novice genealogical researcher. As I gained familiarity with the databases and how to efficiently mine them, my progress gained ever-increasing momentum. Today, The Patricians! tree (Ancestry.com) contains nearly 120,000 individuals, stretching over 135 generations, 5,800 of which are my direct ancestors in a genealogical sense.

During this trek back in time, I encountered fascinating figures in both history and obscurity. This blog contains many stories about their genealogical relationship to me (and many of you). By far and away, as a student of history, the historically obscure individuals are of particular interest to me. I cite Baron “Blue Beard” Montmorency-Laval de Rais (1405 – 1440) as an example of a historically maligned personage whose real contribution to history, as both a playwright and hero of France, has yet to be properly recognized. Another example is Earl Edward de Vere (1550 – 1604), who’s yet to gain widespread recognition as the actual author of the body of literary work wrongly ascribed to William Shakespeare (1564 – 1616).

My life-long interest in international economics and finance continues unabated. I primarily demonstrate this professional involvement as a contributor to the Long Room, the members-only international finance professionals' forum hosted by the Financial Times of London.

I'm an avid recreational scuba diver who enjoys traveling to exotic dive sites. My love of the sea and marine life gives me an unbounded appreciation and support of “green” issues, especially those devoted to the conservation of endangered species and coral reefs.

He continually posts results of his personal genealogical research to his Goodreads Authors Blog. Entitled The Patricians - The Ancestral Heritage of Steven Wood Collins, the work represents thousand of hours of his research efforts and related commentary.

Leave a comment